Favorite Time-Savers for Busy Moms Part 1: Cleaning Floors

With three kids four and under keeping me busy now, my time is SO precious, and I want to spend it in meaningful ways.  That’s why I am excited to start a new blog series of my favorite time savers.  I love them so much, I knew I needed to share them with you!

Today, I’m going to start out with a big one…my vacuum cleaner.  I’ve owned a Dyson for the past four years, but honestly never really loved it.  When we moved, the previous owner mentioned that their Dyson actually unraveled a large section of carpet, and they later found out, was not recommended by the carpet’s manufacturer.  She said she loved her Shark vacuum cleaner, so I thought I’d better give it a try.  Boy, am I glad I did!

IMG_8698

If you have hard floors, the Shark Rotator Powered Lift-Away Deluxe vacuum will save you TONS of time cleaning them each week.

Here’s why the Shark Rotator Powered Lift-Away Deluxe is such a great time saver:

It’s easy to transition between all types of flooring.  With the switch right on the handle, it’s a quick button push to change from carpet, to hard floors, to rugs.  I have all three kinds on the main floor of my house, and this is so handy.

IMG_8704

Cleaning tools are always available.  The handle quickly detaches and becomes a hand-held vacuum tool!  I can vacuum the floor, sweep up crumbs out of a booster seat, and get the dog hair off the stairs without running back to the closet to grab an attachment.  Because, let’s face it, when you’re in the middle of cleaning, you never stop to go get an attachment…it just sits unused in the closet.

IMG_8710

Long power cord means you can vacuum most of your house without plugging/unplugging the cord.  When you have it in the pull-behind canister mode, you can reach even farther!  We have about 2000 sq. ft. on the main floor of our house, and I only have to move the plug ONE time to reach everything!

And my number one reason: The hard floor attachment is AMAZING!

 

The attachment comes with washable microfiber pads that dust behind you as you sweep.  Before, I had to use my Bona to mop the floors each time after I vacuumed.  Now, I just use it once a week, and the Shark attachment does the rest!  Check out all the dirt it picked up after one time vacuuming (this is in addition to the dirt it actually collected in the canister!):

IMG_8707

Other bonuses the Rotator Powered Lift-Away offers:

  • Lights help you see in dark spaces.
  • Easy to dump collection canister.
  • It reaches far under most furniture.
  • Low price tag compared to competitors.
  • It works…great!  I think it cleans much better than my Dyson that was twice the price.  And with three kids, a huge golden retriever, and dust/debris from a basement finishing project in progress, that says a lot.

Ok, I’m sold…where can I get one?  There are a bunch of different models available, but if you want to maximize your time spent vacuuming multiple surfaces, you want the lift-away model with the hard floor attachment.  Here is the one I have.  Since I bought mine, Shark has come out with a newer model, and the Powered Lift-Away TruePet may be an easier model to find, and still has all the time saving features I love.

I want to hear from you…what is your number one time saver when it comes to cleaning your home?  OR…what thing in your life do you need to spend less time doing so you can spend more doing what’s most important to you?

Check back here soon…I will be featuring 4-5 more of my favorite time savers for busy moms in the next few weeks!

One thought on “Favorite Time-Savers for Busy Moms Part 1: Cleaning Floors

Leave a Reply

